Two car numbers change for 2011 V8 season

  • Monday 24th January, 2011 12:50pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
There will be a couple of number changes for the 2011 V8 season

There will be a couple of number changes for the 2011 V8 season

Walkinshaw Racing and Paul Morris Motorsport have elected to change the numbers of their cars ahead of this year’s V8 Supercars Championship.

Walkinshaw Racing will enter Fabian Coulthard in the #61 Bundaberg Red Racing Commodore VE, while PMM has given Steve Owen #49 for his return to the championship, driving the VIP Petfoods-backed Commodore.

For WR and Coulthard, the #61 represents the year that Bundaberg was formed (1961), with the company celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. The car was entered under #24 last year – the old Romano Racing number.

Fabian Coulthard at Bathurst last year

Fabian Coulthard at Bathurst last year

Coulthard’s Bundaberg Red Racing Commodore will be unveiled tomorrow in Sydney.

The significance of the number change for PMM is a quirky one. Team owner Paul Morris placed 49th in last year’s ‘Top 50 Australian Touring Car drivers of all-time.’ Owen’s new number pays tribute to that feat.

The only other number changes is that the Toll Holden Racing Team assumes the coveted #1 plate, thanks to new champion James Courtney joining the team. This forces former champ Jamie Whincup to revert to TeamVodafone’s traditional #88 – a number that Whincup last used in 2008 when he claimed his first V8 title.

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - | Web Design by 7thVision